Ventura County Uber Accident Attorney | Passenger Car Accident Lawyer
Contact our Ventura County Uber accident attorney from The Law Offices of J. Jeffrey Herman to determine liability, coverage type, the amount of money, negligence, and the value of your losses and damages in an Uber accident. Call at 805-983-2344 to get a free consultation.
Logo 805-983-2344
500 E. Esplanade Drive Suite 1520 Oxnard, CA 93036

What’s the first things that comes to your mind when you do not have a car, need to go home, and cannot be bothered with public transportation? Uber!

Uber has become one of the most favorite modes of transportation for many people in California and all across the country. While Uber is a convenient way of getting where you need to be, one study has suggested that the rising popularity of ridesharing services is responsible for an ever-increasing number of motor vehicle accident deaths on U.S. roads.

There are many misconceptions around Uber-related accidents and ways how an injured passenger or driver can recover damages after a motor vehicle collision involving an Uber vehicle.

The most common questions after an Uber accident

An increasing number of Americans in urban areas use Uber and other ridesharing services to commute to and from work, which makes sense why car accidents involving Uber occur in Ventura County and all across California during morning and evening rush hour.

Here at The Law Offices of J. Jeffrey Herman, our Ventura County Uber accident attorney has heard numerous questions from clients who had been injured in Uber-related crashes on California roads. These questions include but are not limited to:

  • “Will I be covered as a passenger in the event of an Uber accident?”
  • “Can I be held liable for my injury as an Uber passenger?”
  • “Who’s going to pay for my damages and losses sustained in an Uber accident?”
  • “What kinds of Uber accidents are covered by Uber’s $1 million liability insurance?”

Liability for an Uber accident in Ventura County

While Uber and other ridesharing services are still a relatively new phenomenon in the realm of law, and many motor vehicle-related laws are still full of imperfections when it comes to handling Uber-related car accidents, the process of seeking compensation for your injury is very similar to that of a regular car crash.

Under California law, if you can prove that the other motorist was at fault for causing the crash, that motorist will be held responsible for any resulting damages and losses caused by your injury.

“However, what you need to understand if you were injured due to negligence of an Uber driver is that the driver’s personal insurance company will most likely deny your claim, arguing that the vehicle was operated for a business purpose,” warns our experienced Uber accident attorney in Ventura County.

In order to receive compensation from the Uber driver’s personal insurance coverage, his or her coverage needs to have separate coverage that includes operation as a business vehicle.

There are different types of Uber accidents, but generally, they can be broken down into three types:

  1. You were injured as an Uber passenger
  2. You were injured as an Uber driver
  3. You were injured as a driver or passenger of another vehicle in an accident involving an Uber vehicle.

Time periods for Uber drivers that may entitle you to compensation

Whether or not you are entitled to receive compensation under Uber’s $1 million insurance coverage depends on the time period for the Uber driver involved. There are three distinct time periods for Uber drivers:

  1. No period. The Uber accident occurs when the Uber driver is not logged into the ridesharing app. In that case, your injury may be covered by the driver’s personal insurance coverage, as the driver is considered off the job during the accident.
  2. Period 1. The accident occurs when an Uber driver is logged into the app and awaiting a fare. In that case, Uber offers $50,000 of liability coverage per person, $100,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage.
  3. Period 2. The accident occurs when an Uber driver has accepted a fare and is traveling to pick up the passenger who requested the ride. During this time period, Uber offers $1 million in liability coverage as well as uninsured and underinsured coverage.
  4. Period 3. The accident occurs after an Uber driver has picked up the passenger and they are traveling to the destination. In that case, Uber also offers $1 million in liability, uninsured, and underinsured coverage.

Determining liability, coverage type, the amount of money you can recover, negligence, and the value of your losses and damages in an Uber accident can be tough, which is why it is advised that you discuss your case with a Ventura County Uber accident lawyer from The Law Offices of J. Jeffrey Herman. Contact our law firm to schedule a free consultation today. Call at 805-983-2344.