Help in the Face of Drunk Driving Risks - Personal Injury Attorney
Contact Ventura County personal injury attorney J. Jeffrey Herman when defensive driving techniques are not enough to avoid accidents. Call us today at 805-351-3385 for free consultation.
Logo 805-351-3385
500 E. Esplanade Drive Suite 600 Oxnard, CA 93036

Drunk drivers represent some of the greatest risks to Oxnard residents. In 2013, 11 people in Ventura County were killed by drunk drivers.

Oxnard residents are at risk every day of being involved in serious accidents caused by drunk drivers. People who make the dangerous choice to drink and drive put themselves at risk as well as innocent victims.

Even when they cause injuries or death to themselves, their friends and family members must suffer and often grieve for their lost loved ones. One example of this is the recent death of a man 28-year old man who died after crashing his motorcycle. Reports in the Moorpark Acorn indicate he had a blood alcohol level of .011 percent.

How many people die in drunk driving accidents each year?

Data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows that certainly the number of drunk driving deaths fluctuates each year yet it is always a serious issue. Some data includes:

  • Ventura County lost 11 lives in drunk driving car accidents in 2013.
  • Ventura County lost 14 lives in drunk driving car accidents in 2012.
  • Ventura County lost 27 lives in drunk driving car accidents in 2011.

In the entire state of California, 867 people died in drunk driving crashes in 2013.

High blood alcohol levels increases the danger

The Century Council records from 2012 indicate that of the 803 drunk driving deaths in California that year, 72.4 percent involved drivers with BAC levels of 0.15 percent or greater. Additionally, drivers with prior DUI convictions on records who were involved in fatal accidents that year had BAC levels of 0.15 percent or greater in 79.1 percent of cases.

How can repeat offenses be prevented?

One of the ways that the law attempts to prevent repeat drunk driving behavior is by ordering the use of ignition interlock devices. An IID prevents a vehicle from being started unless the driver is able to pass a breath test first.

The National Conference of State Legislatures outlines that even a first-time offender in California can be required to use an IID. The likelihood of this increases if the driver has refused a chemical test, has at least two other previous traffic violations or has a blood alcohol level over 0.14 percent. IIDs are typically used for up to three years at a time.

What else can Oxnard residents to do stay safe?

Practicing safe, defensive driving techniques is always one way to help avoid an accident. However, sometimes this is not enough and an accident still happens. When this is the case and a drunk driver hits you, contacting a lawyer is recommended.